These news items are being posted on the heels of the worst shooting incident in our country.  This first entry is from  Marina; who is one of the Survivor Writers, in Murder Survivors Handbook and The Journey-learning to live with violent death.  She tells of one example of being triggered, an experience that many of you who have worked or lived with violent death experience in an out of your lives. With this latest incident in Las Vegas, we are adding hundreds who will be triggered in the future as well.

Trigger Warning

This year my husband and I encountered a very problematic situation which took a profound toll on our mental and physical well-being.  We rented a vacation house in the desert in an attempt to restore our peace of mind.  I was on edge when we arrived, so I took a stroll into the spacious back yard of the rental.  As I approached a quiet corner of the property, I spotted a naked male human body lying face-down.  It appeared to be in an advanced state of decomposition.  Feeling a great deal of bemusement and curiosity, I got closer, and chuckled in surprise as I realized that I was looking at a life-sized concrete statue!  It would have been horrific if I had seen this “playful” piece of yard art years earlier, after my father’s murder.  You see, his body was found in his bedroom— naked, lying face-down.  I silently congratulated myself for remaining calm.   I only share this story as a caution.  A survivors, we must strive to remain aware of the presence of triggers.  They surround us, and can appear suddenly, without warning.  You don’t have to go looking for them.  They will come to you. 

Marina

Murder Survivor's Handbook: Real-life Stories, Tips & Resources                                                     The_Journey_front_cover web

Restorative Retelling Group begins October 11 with Connie Saindon,  MFT and Tammy Carter, MFTI.  Screening is still available for future ten week groups.  Contact Tammy at 619-685-0005.

Restorative Retelling Training in San Diego is being postponed for a future date.  Contact Connie Saindon at 629-685-0005 if you have an interest in bringing this important training to San Diego or your community. Training is also available for Criminal Death Support Groups as well.

Judi Earnest, Homicide Bereavement Therapist,  has completed two days of  Restorative Retelling training for work with her agency.  She is also the recipient of twelve donated “The Journey-Learning to Live with Violent Death” workbooks.  She can be reached at Wayside-Blackstone Valley Community Services in Milford, Massachusetts at (508) 469 3111.